Itawamba County, Mississippi History and Genealogy: The Itawamba Historical Society

(Click Thumbnail Image to View Page)


The County Board of Supervisors maintained a pensioners' list in Itawamba County. This list was approved annually by the Grand Jury. The 1898 Grand Jury Pension List included 104 pensioners and was written on four pages. Note that some of the pensioners were rejected on the above list. This list was found in the back of an old Board of Supervisors minute book in the Itawamba County Courthouse.

A list of pensions allowed at the Sept. Term of the Grand Jury 1898

Page 1
S.M. Reeves
W.L. Griffin
Hollet Pierce
H.F. Booth
R. Whitley
T.J. Gaddy
T.R. Atwood
Margaret Hood
Mrs. Ellen Partin
Mrs. J.N. Boatright (Rejected)
Susan E. Nannie
Nancy A. Edwards
Martha Crawley
John Hair
J.N. Jarrel
Caroline Devall
Sarah Odum
Francis Gilmore
Mary J. Johnson
Jane Riley
Lucinda Umphres
S.A. Underwood
Mary J. Hobbs
Martha A. Austin
Sophronia Wilburn (Rejected)
N.A. Gilmore
Ellen Woldridge
Jno. J. Little
Louisa Tucker

Page 2
Sinthy McFearson
Jno. Anthony
J.R. Wright
E. Ramey
G.D. Brougham
A. Prestridge
A. Tomlin
T.B. Russell
A.N. Conwill
J.H. Chamble
J.R. McMilon
Marthy W. Patton
D.R. Foard
A.M. Rea
Miles Barkley
H.T. Gillentine
Wm. Summerford
E.B. Baldwyn
Eliza Wiginton
D.A. Hilliard
M.A. Hall
R. Mason
Rebecca Grimes
Jane Crouch
Nancy Thompson
John Williams
Wm. Sherfield
Aron Crocker
G.B. Patterson
W.D. Warren
Susy Wilemon
Vina McDaniel

Page 3
W.J. Dulany
J.H. Hughes
Mary Wright
Rhoda Chambliss
T.B. Foot
W.T. Pugh
T.J. Pedigo
J.J. McDonal
M.E. Williams
R.E. Adderholt
F.M. Turner
E. Waddel
S.H. Willis
Calvent Thomas
John Roggers
C.C. Tice (Rejected)
Johnathan Plunkett
Aaron Cantrell
Elizabeth Boyd
J.A. Hilliard
Margie J. Wallis
N.C. Bibby
Mary J. Harman
J.R. Carpenter (Rejected)
J.T. Watson
M.A. Harris
H.B. Wallis (Rejected for Good)
Johnathan Stephens
Eliza Barton
Annie Ewing

Page 4
P.P. Collum
Thomas Plunkett
G.W. Moore (Rejected)
Joseph Hargett
J.R. Yielding
A.N. Grissom
Mrs. Jane Ringer
W.R. Hutcheson
J.S. Davis Sr. (Rejected)
J.C. Johnson (Rejected)
W. Ashley (Rejected)
Jessie Davis

Return to Index


This site and the information it provides may not be copied for commercial use of any kind or reproduced on another site without explicit written permission from the Itawamba Historical Society Inc. In some instances, the Itawamba Historical Society, Inc. has received limited distribution and publication rights to certain materials. Copying, pasting or caching any page of this site onto another site, is strictly prohibited without written express permission. It is however, permissible to print or save files to a personal computer for personal use ONLY. Use of this site denotes acceptance of these terms.

Entire Contents Copyright  2006 The Itawamba Historical Society